TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Matt Lenz, David Schmittou, et al. Receive Kevin Kline Awards logo
David Schmittou
The winners of the fifth annual Kevin Kline Awards, honoring excellence in St. Louis professional theater, were presented on March 22, at a ceremony at the Loretto-Hilton Center.

The award for Outstanding Production of a Musical resulted in a tie between two Stages St. Louis productions: Guys and Dolls and The Drowsy Chaperone, the latter of which also won for lead actor David Schmittou and supporting actors Christianne Tisdale and John Alban Coughlan, and for ensemble.

The Muny's production of Hairspray took home awards for director Matt Lenz, lead actress Joline Mujica, musical director Ross Rawlings, and choreographer Michele Lynch.

Additional acting winners include Jason Cannon (Doubt), John Contini (Barrymore), Neva Rae Powers (Souvenir), Jerry Russo (Glengarry Glen Ross), Cathy Simpson (A Song for Coretta), and Kirsten Wylder (Wonder of the World).

For a full list of winners, visit

Tagged in this Story