TheaterMania Logo

About this show

4pm Concert: 1. Luciano Berio: Sequenza V (David Whitwell of ConTempo, tbn, 6'). 2. Andre Bregegere*: Incantation (Duo RoMi: Roberta Michel, fl; Mirna Lekac, pf, 12?'). 3. David Schober**: Taepoong (2002), Marimba solo (Derek Kwan of Nota Bene, 8'). 4. Charles Wuorinen: Trombone Trio (David Whitwell, Cory Bracken, Marc Thorman, 9'). - INTERMISSION - 5. Philippe Leroux: Un lieu verdoyant, tribute to Gerard Grisey (1999) (Fabienne Seveillac, voice; Daniel Blake, saxophone, 6.5'). 6. Jorge Villalencio Grossmann: Pensar Geometrico el Transluz (Danielle Weinberg, percussion; Roberta Michel, flutes; Evelyn Farny, cello of the Cadillac Moon Ensemble, 12'). 7. John Cage: Imaginary Landscape No. 2 (Guerilla Percussion Project, 7'). 8. Jeff Nichols**: Clepsydra (Graduate Center Contemporary Music Ensemble: ?, Soprano; Maureen Keenan, flute; ? ,Oboe; Yi-Chuan, clarinet; Daniel Liao, bassoon; Nate Cabana, sax; Becca Bainbridge, horn; Alex Samawicz, trumpet; Greg Erickson, trombone; Brian Thomson, viola; Noelle Casella, cello; Brian Stephens, Percussion, Joshua Feltman, conductor; 10'). 7pm Concert: 1. Frederic Rzewski: Crusoe (ConTempo, 5'). 2. Hyun-Kyung Lee*: Point of No Return (Remi Burrowes, vn; Carl Bolia, pf, 7'). 3. Whitney George*: The Anatomy of the Curiosity Cabinet (Lindsey Eckenroth, Flute; Jessica Billitteri, Flute & Piccolo; Steve Hands, Oboe & English Horn; TBA, Bass Clarinet,; Jessica Ashcroft, Flugelhorn; David Whitwell, Trombone; Chad Walther, Tuba; Carl Patrick Bolleia, Celeste?; Mikhail Pais, Piano; Michael Lupo, Percussion; Cory Bracken, Mallet Percussion; Devora Geller, Violin?; Pedro Vizzarro Vallejos, Viola; Eric Cooper, Violoncello; Sean Ormiston, Double Bass, Whitney George, Conductor, 5') 4. Jay Vilnai*: They Flee (Ana Deseda,mezzo-soprano; Dave Ruder, clarinet; Pedro Vizzaro-Vallejos, violin;Eric Cooper, cello; Michael Lupo, percussion; Hitomi Honda, Piano; 7'). 5. George Crumb: Madrigals, Book I (ConTempo: Amirtha Kidambi, voice; Cory Bracken, percussion; Sean Ormiston, doublebass; 10') - INTERMISSION - 6. Amir Shpilman*: Asymtote 2 (Chamber Orchestra, 9'). Jessica Billitteri, flutes; Anthony Rodriguez, clarinet; trombone, David Whitwell; piano, Carl Bolia; Cory Bracken percussion; Remi Burrowes, Violin; Pedro Vizzaro-Vallejos, Viola, Erick Cooper, cello; Sean Ormiston, double bass, ???, conductor 7. Ned Rorem: Trio (OMNI Ensemble: David Wechsler, flute; Brian Snow, cello; James Johnston, piano, 10'). Largo misterioso, allegro, Largo, Andante, Allegro molto. 8. David Lang: Lying, Cheating, Stealing (Nota Bene: Derek Kwan, Marimba; Paul Kerekes, Piano; Austin Shadduck, Brake Drum; Joe Fee, Brake Drum; Hiromi Nishida, Bass Clarinet; Sam Chernoff, Cello; Matthew J Kasper, Conductor, 11') * CUNY Student ** CUNY Faculty Duo RoMi is a New York-based flute and piano ensemble. Formed in the fall of 2008, the group was recently featured at the Music in Midtown concert series and the Institute and Festival for Contemporary Performance. Flutist Roberta Michel and pianist Mirna Leki? met at the CUNY Graduate Center where both are pursuing doctorates in peformance and where, as a duo, they received guidance from Robert Dick and Ursula Oppens. Along with performing standard classical repertoire, the ensemble is dedicated to the promotion and performance of music and composers of our time. Cadillac Moon Ensemble is changing the idiom of quartet music. With its unique instrumentation of flute, violin, cello, and percussion, the ensemble is dedicated to retaining the intimacy and artistry of traditional chamber music while constantly challenging the way composers view a quartet. CME is focused on commissioning new works from and developing integral relationships with emerging and established composers. CME's commitment to these objectives and its unique instrumentation of flute, violin, cello, and percussion yields a stimulating and untapped reservoir from which new musical voices will be discovered and nurtured. The Queens College Nota Bene Ensemble is the official new music ensemble of the Aaron Copland School of Music. The students in the ensemble have worked with such artists as David Lang, Elliott Carter, the Long Island Composer's Alliance, Chou Weng Chung, Charlie Neidich and Todd Reynolds. This semester, composer Bright Sheng is a guest of the School of Music and is working intensively with this ensemble. The ensemble has performed at various new music festivals in Baltimore and New York. The ensemble is directed by Professor Michael Lipsey. ConTempo, an ensemble comprised of Brooklyn College Conservatory students, was founded by CUNY Distinguished Professor Tania León in 1986 and is currently under the direction of CUNY Distinguished Professor Ursula Oppens. Since its inception, the ensemble has hosted residencies fir composers including Chen Yi, John Corigliano, Mark Adamo, Philip Glass, Dennis Russell Davies, Tom Buckner, and Alvin Singleton. ConTempo has also been an important laboratory for student composers, hosting residencies and premiering new works throughout its existence. The OMNI Ensemble is a chamber music group created to perform a uniquely flexible repertoire. From the Renaissance to the contemporary Avant-Garde the ensemble presents programs of enormous variety, all designed to provide their audience with a musical diversity not ordinarily encountered in a single musical event. Since 1983 The OMNI Ensemble has produced a successful concert series noted for its innovative combination of programming and guest artists including David Amram, The Benevento/Russo Duo, Guy Klucevsek, Katherine Ciesinski, Charlotte Hellekant, Misa Iwama, Gerald Ranck, John Kelley, Jin Hi Kim, and Roy Nathanson, OMNI has comissioned composers including David Lang, Lee Hyla, Michael Bushnell, Eric Klein, Allen Campbell, David Wechsler and Jim Lahti. A CD entitled the OMNI Ensemble plays the Music of Jim Lahti is available on CD Baby.

Show Details

  • Dates:Closed on
  • Location:Baruch Performing Arts Center, New York City