TheaterMania Logo

About this show

Pulitzer Prize-winning playwright Marsha Norman will be honored at the 17th annual 24 Hour Plays on Broadway as part of the organization's partnership with the Lilly Awards.

The 24 Hour Plays bring together extraordinary artists to create time-limited theater around the world. Proceeds from The 24 Hour Plays on Broadway benefit the 24 Hour Plays programming, including the 24 Hour Plays: Nationals (a professional intensive for young artists) and the Lilly Awards Foundation's work supporting women in theater and promoting gender parity.

The rotating cast for The 24 Hour Plays on Broadway has included Leslie Bibb, Jason Biggs, Billy Crudup, Hugh Dancy, Daveed Diggs, Peter Dinklage, Rachel Dratch, Jesse Eisenberg, America Ferrera, John Krasinski, Aasif Mandvi, Javier Muñoz, Retta, Amanda Seales, Justice Smith, Amber Tamblyn, Tracie Thoms, and Olivia Wilde.

The marathon process for The 24 Hour Plays on Broadway begins at 10pm on October 29, the night before the performance. The writers, directors, actors, and production staff — many of whom have never worked with or met one another before — gather for an orientation during which they are asked to share one costume piece, one prop, a special skill, and to reveal something that they have always wanted to do onstage. Using all this as inspiration, the writers spend the night developing 10-minute plays, with rehearsals set to begin at 9am the following morning for an 8pm performance that same day.

Show Details

  • Dates:Closed on
  • Location:
    American Airlines Theatre, New York City

Related Articles