TheaterMania Logo

About this show

Asia's First-Class Symphonic Orchestra En Shao, Conductor Tianpeng Gong (Peng Peng,) Piano Soloist Program Xia Guan, Requiem for the Earth, 1st Movement Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikowski, Piano Concerto No. 1 Ludwig Van Beethoven, Symphony No. 7 in A Major, Op. 92 One of the outstanding professional orchestras in China, this revered ensemble is renowned for its splendid artistry, tremendous dedication, and consummate professionalism. Founded in 1956, the China National Symphony Orchestra has spent the last half century promoting Chinese symphonic works to audiences across the globe while introducing Chinese audiences to an expansive repertoire of orchestral works by both Western and Asian composers. "A mature group with a vital sound," says the London Times. The orchestra will perform the opening movement from Guan Xia's Requiem for the Earth, written in remembrance of the 2008 Sichuan earthquake and Beethoven's joyful Symphony No. 7. Prodigy pianist, Peng Peng, proclaimed by San Diego Arts to be "the real thing - an artist of both physical skill and intellectual insight," joins the orchestra for Tchaikovsky's Piano Concerto No. 1.

Show Details

  • Running Time:2hr 30min (1 intermission)
  • Dates:Closed on