TheaterMania Logo

About this show

Named for Antonie Brentano, who many scholars consider to be Beethoven's "Immortal Beloved," the Brentano String Quartet performs a highly virtuosic program featuring one of the last pieces Beethoven ever wrote--the [misnumbered] Thirteenth String Quartet in its original form, with the Große Fuge as the final movement. Currently celebrating its 20th anniversary, the Brentano String Quartet has a strong interest in both very old and very new music and has performed pieces spanning the entire two-century range of the standard quartet repertoire. The quartet has been honored with the Cleveland Quartet Award and the Naumburg Chamber Music Award as well as the Royal Philharmonic Award for Most Outstanding Debut. The Brentano String Quartet currently serves as Resident String Quartet at Princeton University, the university's first ever ensemble-in-residence.

Show Details

  • Dates:Closed on
  • Location:Irvine Barclay Theatre, Los Angeles