TheaterMania Logo

About this show

David Perry, Leader, Violin Edvard Grieg Two Lyrical Pieces Jean Sibelius "En Saga" A Recreation of Original Version Edvard Grieg Holberg Suite from Holberg's Time Johann Svendsen Romance for Solo Violin and Strings, Opus 26 April makes us think of spring and few outside of Chicago look forward to spring more than the residents of Scandinavia. This concert will explore the folk-oriented music of Norway and Finland through works that will thaw your icy winter blood. Edvard Grieg's Two Lyrical Pieces were originally written for piano, but transcribed for orchestra to achieve a wider audience. Grieg's lush sound and original melodies will whisk you away to his distant homeland. Sibelius' En Saga is more commonly known as a full orchestral tone poem, but this rarely performed original version is written for only nine players featuring members of the Chicago Philharmonic. This deeply personal work for Sibelius is inspired by Icelandic Eddas and will take listeners on a Nordic adventure they will not soon forget. The string section is then featured in Grieg's evocative Holberg Suite. You will be surrounded by the rich string resonance of Grieg's music and treated by the talents of these players. Finally David Perry takes center stage once again to share his amazing sound and passion on the violin with a performance of Johann Svendsen's Romance for Violin and Strings. Lovers of string music should not miss this evening.

Show Details

  • Dates:Closed on
  • Location:Pick-Staiger Concert Hall, Chicago