TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Jeff Calhoun, Tonya Pinkins, Bryce Ryness, et al. Receive Craig Noel Award Nominations logo
Tonya Pinkins
(© David Gordon)
The nominees for the 2011 Craig Noel Awards have been announced. The winners will be announced in a ceremony to be held on February 6 at the Museum of Contemporary Art, San Diego.

Among the most nominated productions is The Old Globe's Jane Austen's Emma, which has received seven nominations, including one for Outstanding Resident Musical. The show has also received nominations for performers Patti Murrin and Dani Marcus, and for director Jeff Calhoun.

Also nominated for for Outstanding Resident Musical is La Jolla Playhouse's Sleeping Beauty Wakes, which has received six nominations. In addition to being nominated for Outstanding Resident Musical, the production has received nominations for leading cast members aspen Vincent and Bryce Ryness and for supporting actor Bob Stillman.

Also nominated as an Outstanding Resident Musical is Cygnet Theatre's Cabaret, and among its other five nominations are ones for performers Karson St. John, Melissa Fernandes, and Linda Libby.

Nominations have also gone to the Broadway-bound production of Jesus Christ Superstar, now at the La Jolla Playhouse, as well as Next to Normal and Shrek the Musical for Outstanding Touring Production.

In dramatic categories, Ion Theatre's Angels in America has received nominations for Outstanding Dramatic Production and Outstanding Ensemble, as have actors Kyle Sorrell and Liesel Gorell-Getz

Another nominee for is Outstanding Dramatic Production is The Old Globe's August: Osage County, which has received an Outstanding Ensemble nomination as well as one for actress Lois Markle.

Among the other Noel Awards nominees are actors Jeffrey DeMunn, Robert Foxworth, Dick Latessa, and Tonya Pinkins.


Tagged in this Story