TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Greer, Panaro, Sandoval, et al. Win 2008 Barrymore Awards logo
Hugh Panaro in Les Miserables
(© Brett Thomas)
Winners of the 2008 Barrymore Awards, honoring the best of Philadelphia-area theater, were announced tonight at a ceremony at the Crystal Tea Room in the Wannamaker Building.

Arden Theatre Company received the most awards of any single theater, with a total of six. The Walnut Street Theatre's Les Miserables took home prizes for Outstanding Oveall Production of a Musical, lead actor Hugh Panaro, and Supporting Actress Christina DeCicco. Arden's Assassins won for Terrence J. Nolen's direction, as well as Eric Ebbenga's music direction and supporting actor Scott Greer.

The award for Outstanding Overall Production of a Play went to People's Light & Theatre Company's Six Characters in Search of an Author. Lantern Theater Company's Skylight won for director Dan Kern and leading actress Geneviève Perrier while The Wilma Theater's Eurydice won awards for supporting actor Triney Sandoval and Toby Twining's original music.

Other acting awards went to Kim Carson for Outstanding Leading Actress in a Musical in Hedwig and the Angry Inch at Azuka Theatre; Jeb Kreager for Outstanding Leading Actor in a Play in Frozen at InterAct Theatre Company; Lee Ann Etzold for Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Play for Bill Irwin's The Happiness Lecture at Philadelphia Theatre Company. Outstanding Ensemble in a Musical was given to the cast of The World Goes 'Round at 11th Hour Theatre Company; and 1812 Productions' Suburban Love Songs won for Outstanding Ensemble in a Play.

Special awards were given out to Matt Pfeiffer who won the F. Otto Haas Award for an Emerging Philadelphia Theatre Artist, which comes with a $10,000 cash award; Philadelphia Theatre Company, which received the award for Excellence in Theatre Education and Community Service for its PASSPORT Theater Residency Program; Dolly Beechman Schnall received the 2008 Lifetime Achievement Award; and Arden Theatre Company & Christ Church's Our Town in Old City won The Ted and Stevie Wolf New Approaches to Collaborations Award, honoring collaborative efforts between theatre companies and organizations of other artistic disciplines.

For a complete list of winners and nominees, visit

Tagged in this Story