TheaterMania Logo
Home link

York Theater Company Holds 26th Oscar Hammerstein Award Gala

The Fantasticks scribes Tom Jones and Harvey Schmidt were honored with the Oscar Hammerstein Award for Lifetime Achievement in Musical Theatre.

Harvey Schmidt and Tom Jones were honored at the 26th Oscar Hammerstein Award Gala.
(© Allison Stock)

The York Theatre Company held its 26th Oscar Hammerstein Award Gala last night, December 4, at the Asia Society and Museum, celebrating The Fantasticks writers Tom Jones and Harvey Schmidt. The pair were were awarded the 2017 Oscar Hammerstein Award for Lifetime Achievement in Musical Theatre.


Among the performers for the evening were Samantha Bruce (The Fantasticks), Ava Della Pietra (School of Rock), Julian Fleisher (February House), Randy Harrison (Cabaret), Samantha Massell (Fiddler on the Roof), Randy Rainbow, Lee Roy Reams (42nd Street), Ben Rimalower (Bad With Money), Well-Strung, and the Manhattan School of Music Musical Theatre Ensemble (Judith Clurman, director).

Performers also included Gretchen Cryer and Nancy Ford (I'm Getting My Act Together and Taking It on the Road), Robert Cuccioli (Rothschild and Sons), Andrea Frierson (Me and Ella), Rita Gardner (The Fantasticks), Adam Kantor (Fiddler on the Roof), Norm Lewis (Porgy and Bess), Michele McConnell (The Phantom of the Opera), Tracy Lynn Olivera (Ragtime), Frances Ruffelle (Les Misérables), Christopher Sieber (Matilda), Lesley Ann Warren (110 in the Shade), Susan Watson (Bye Bye Birdie), Betsy Wolfe (Waitress), and Freddie Gershon.

Richard Jay-Alexander directed, with Andrew Gerle serving as musical director. The Oscar Hammerstein Award, which recognizes significant lifetime achievement in musical theater, is presented at a gala evening held for the benefit of the York Theatre Company.


Tagged in this Story