TheaterMania Logo
Home link
Theater News

The Off-Broadway League Announces Terry Byrne as First Female President

The organization also announced three additions to the board.

Terry Byrne will serve as president of the Off-Broadway League.
(© photo provided by Daniel DeMello Public Relations)

The Off-Broadway League has announced that Terry Byrne was elected as its new president. The League also announced three additions to its board: Dean Carpenter, Steven Chaikelson, and Casey York.

Byrne, the first female president in the nearly 60-year history of the League, has had a long association with it, serving on the board of directors since 1993. Her work with the League includes participation in negotiating committees for the League's collectively bargained agreements with AEA, SDC, and USA. She has also served on the Administration and Host Committees for the Lucille Lortel Awards, and as chair of the Off-Broadway Chapter of the Broadway Green Alliance. She is the general manager of the Westside Theatre.

Byrne replaces Adam Hess, who served as president for the past four years. Hess will continue to serve on the board, now in the role of treasurer.