TheaterMania Logo
Home link

Mike Birbiglia to Host 2019 Lucille Lortel Awards

The honors will be presented May 5.

Mike Birbiglia will host the 2019 Lucille Lortel Awards.
(© David Gordon)

Mike Birbiglia will host the 2019 Lucille Lortel Awards, stepping in for the previously announced Wayne Brady, who has withdrawn because of a scheduling conflict. Birbiglia is nominated for a Lortel, as well as Outer Critics Circle and Drama Desk Awards, for The New One.

The awards, presented by the Off-Broadway League, will be handed out on Sunday, May 5, at the NYU Skirball Center for Performing Arts, beginning at 7pm. Presenters currently include Annaleigh Ashford, Stephanie J. Block, Reeve Carney, Jeff Daniels, Jeremy O. Harris, Beth Leavel, Bonnie Milligan, Tim Blake Nelson, Patrick Page, Sendhil Ramamurthy, Alice Ripley, Will Roland, Stephanie Styles, Sergio Trujillo, and Brandon Uranowitz.

The Classic Stage Company revival of Carmen Jones and Ars Nova's Rags Parkland Sings the Songs of the Future both led with six nominations. Be More Chill which recently transferred to Broadway, received four nominations including Outstanding Musical and Outstanding Featured Actor in a Musical for George Salazar. And this year's voting committee will present Bill Irwin's On Beckett, which ran at Irish Repertory Theatre last year, with an Outstanding Alternative Theatrical Experience award.

Click here for the full list of 2019 Lucille Lortel Awards nominees.


Tagged in this Story