TheaterMania Logo
Home link
Theater News

Carrie Coon, Ashley Park, Michael Urie Receive Lortel Award Nominations

Find out who received nods for the yearly celebration of off-Broadway theater.

Carrie Coon, Ashley Park, and Michael Urie are 2018 Lucille Lortel Award nominees.
(© David Gordon)

The Off-Broadway League has announced nominees for the 2018 Lucille Lortel Awards for Outstanding Achievement Off-Broadway. The full list of nominees is below.

Outstanding Play
Cost of Living
Miles for Mary
School Girls; or, The African Mean Girls Play
The Treasurer

Outstanding Musical
Bella: An American Tall Tale
Desperate Measures
Hundred Days
Jerry Springer — The Opera

Outstanding Revival
F**king A
In the Blood
Jesus Hopped the 'A' Train
The Government Inspector
Torch Song

Outstanding Solo Show
Harry Clarke
Who's Holiday

Outstanding Lead Actor in a Play
Sean Carvajal, Jesus Hopped the 'A' Train
Peter Friedman, The Treasurer
Chukwudi Iwuji, The Low Road
Namir Smallwood, Pipeline
Michael Urie, Torch Song

Outstanding Lead Actress in a Play
Quincy Tyler Bernstine, The Amateurs
MaameYaa Boafo, School Girls; or, The African Mean Girls Play
Carrie Coon, Mary Jane
Cristin Milioti, After the Blast
Karen Pittman, Pipeline

Outstanding Leading Actor in a Musical
Damon Daunno, The Lucky Ones
Steven Eng, Pacific Overtures
Terrence Mann, Jerry Springer — The Opera
Wade McCollum, Ernest Shackleton Loves Me
James Seol, KPOP

Outstanding Leading Actress in a Musical
Abigail Bengson, Hundred Days
Ashley D. Kelly, Bella: An American Tall Tale
Julia Knitel, A Letter to Harvey Milk
Lauren Molina, Desperate Measures
Ashley Park, KPOP

Outstanding Featured Actor in a Play
Mark Bovino, Miles for Mary
Edi Gathegi, Jesus Hopped the 'A' Train
Gregg Mozgala, Cost of Living
Paul Sparks, Edward Albee's At Home at the Zoo: Homelife and The Zoo Story
John Tufts, Pride and Prejudice

Outstanding Featured Actress in a Play
Vanessa Aspillaga, Amy and the Orphans
Quincy Tyler Bernstine, As You Like It
Liza Colón-Zayas, Mary Jane
Mirirai Sithole, School Girls; or, The African Mean Girls Play
Katy Sullivan, Cost of Living

Outstanding Featured Actress in a Musical
Vanessa Kai, KPOP
Tiffany Mann, Jerry Springer — The Opera
Maryann Plunkett, The Lucky Ones
Myra Lucretia Taylor, The Lucky Ones
Adina Verson, The Lucky Ones

Outstanding Featured Actor in a Musical
Sean Patrick Doyle, Jerry Springer — The Opera
Brandon Gill, Bella: An American Tall Tale
Paolo Montalban, Bella: An American Tall Tale
Thom Sesma, Pacific Overtures
Jason Tam, KPOP

Outstanding Director
Lileana Blain-Cruz, Pipeline
Michael Greif, The Low Road
Anne Kauffman, Mary Jane
Lila Neugebauer, Miles for Mary
Leigh Silverman, Harry Clarke

Outstanding Choreographer
Camille A. Brown, Bella: An American Tall Tale
Bill Castellino, Desperate Measures
Byron Easley, X: or, Betty Shabazz v. the Nation
Sonya Tayeh, The Lucky Ones
Jennifer Weber, KPOP

Outstanding Scenic Design
Gabriel Hainer Evansohn, KPOP
Anna Fleischle, Hangmen
Laura Jellinek, Mary Jane
Amy Rubin, Miles for Mary
Louisa Thompson, In the Blood

Outstanding Costume Design
Dede M. Ayite, Bella: An American Tall Tale
Dede M. Ayite, School Girls; or, The African Mean Girls Play
Tricia Barsamian, KPOP
Tilly Grimes, The Government Inspector
Emily Rebholz, The Low Road

Outstanding Lighting Design
Alan C. Edwards, Harry Clarke
Bradley King, The Treasurer
Ben Stanton, The Low Road
Japhy Weideman, Mary Jane
Jeanette Oi-Suk Yew, KPOP

Outstanding Sound Design
Mikhail Fiksel, The Treasurer
Leah Gelpe, Mary Jane
Bray Poor, The Last Match
Bray Poor, Office Hour
Brandon Walcott, After the Blast

Outstanding Projection Design
Lucy Mackinnon, After the Blast
Alexander V. Nichols, Ernest Shackleton Loves Me
Brad Peterson, The Stone Witch
Hannah Wasileski, Pipeline
Jeanette Oi-Suk Yew, Relevance

Set to host the ceremony are The Detour costars Laura Benanti and Jason Jones. It will take place Sunday, May 6, at the NYU Skirball Center for the Performing Arts.

This year, the Lortels will honor In the Body of the World writer-performer Eve Ensler with the Lifetime Achievement Award; Bloody Bloody Andrew Jackson composer Michael Friedman, who will have his name added posthumously to the famed Playwrights' Sidewalk in front of the Lucille Lortel Theatre; and WP Theater, which will receive the Outstanding Body of Work award.


Tagged in this Story