TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Khris Davis Wins Seventh Annual Clive Barnes Award for Theater

Davis starred in Marco Ramirez's ''The Royale'' at Lincoln Center. logo
Khris Davis has won the Seventh Annual Clive Barnes Award for Theater.
(© Tricia Baron)

The Clive Barnes Foundation announced the winners of the seventh annual Clive Barnes Awards at a January 9 ceremony hosted by Michael Riedel.

Khris Davis (The Royale) has won the Seventh Annual Clive Barnes Award for Theater, and Indiana Woodward (New York City Ballet) has won the Seventh Annual Clive Barnes Award for Dance. This year's Theatre Award was presented by Oscar and Tony winner Joel Grey. Ashley Bouder, principal dancer with New York City Ballet, presented the Dance Award.

All finalists received a cash prize, while the winners received an award of $5,000. This year's Theater Award nominees also included Timothee Chalamet for his performance in Prodigal Son, Juwan Crawley for his performance in Spamilton, and Nora Schell for her performance in Spamilton. The Dance Award nominees were also Elena D'Amario of Parsons Dance, Spartak Hoxha of New York City Ballet, and Andrea Torita of BalletX.

The Clive Barnes Foundation was formed in 2009 to create annual awards giving recognition, encouragement, and financial support to two talented young professionals. The winners in each category will receive an award of $5,000 furnished by the Clive Barnes Foundation.


Tagged in this Story