TheaterMania Logo
Home link
Theater News

Kathleen Chalfant to Receive Obie Award for Lifetime Achievement

John Leguizamo will host the 63rd Annual Obie Awards.

Kathleen Chalfant to receive a special Obie Award for Lifetime Acheivement.
(© Seth Walters)

Tony Award-nominated and three-time Obie-winning actor Kathleen Chalfant has been selected to receive a special Obie Award for Lifetime Achievement at the 63rd Annual Obie Awards, which will be held on May 21 at Terminal 5.

As was previously announced, John Leguizamo (Latin History for Morons) will host this year's Obie Awards. The Obie Award judges panel for this season is chaired by longtime Village Voice critic Michael Feingold, and includes Entertainment Weekly theater critic Melissa Rose Bernardo, projection designer Wendall K. Harrington, Broadway News theater critic Charles Isherwood, costume designer Toni-Leslie James, dancer, actor, and director Sondra Lee, Tony Award-nominated and Obie-winning actor Arian Moayed, and Obie-winning actor Ching Valdes-Aran.

The production team for the 2018 Obie Awards includes J. Jason Daunter (artistic supervisor), Eric Cornell (line producer), P. Jason Yarcho (musical supervisor), Natasha Katz (lighting designer), Kai Harada (sound designer), Antje Ellermann (scenic designer), and Adam J. Thompson (video designer).