TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Henry Hewes Design Awards Honor Four Artists for Their Work Off-Broadway

Paul Tazewell, Howell Binkley, and Nevin Steinberg are recognized for their work on Hamilton at the Public Theater.

Lin-Manuel Miranda and Phillipa Soo in a scene from Hamilton at the Public Theater.
(© Joan Marcus)

Four theater artists will be honored by the Henry Hewes Design Awards Committee during the presentation of its 2015 Awards in a fall luncheon ceremony. All honors for the 2015 awards will be given to artists working off-Broadway, marking it the first time that a Broadway production was not honored.

The 2015 honorees are set designer Riccardo Hernandez (The Invisible Hand, New York Theatre Workshop), costume designer Paul Tazewell (Hamilton, Public Theater), lighting designer Howell Binkley (Hamilton, Public Theater), and sound designer Nevin Steinberg (Hamilton, Public Theater). Three of the four are first-time Henry Hewes Design Award honorees. Howell Binkley was previously honored in 2006 for his lighting design for Jersey Boys.

For the 2015 honors, 66 theater artists were nominated for outstanding artistry in 49 productions presented during the 2014-15 New York theater season. The honorees for 2016 will be announced this summer.

The Henry Hewes Design Awards are presented annually to honor designers for work in venues on Broadway, off-Broadway, and off-off-Broadway. They recognize traditional categories as well as "Notable Effects," which encompass sound, music, video, puppetry, and other creative elements.


Tagged in this Story