TheaterMania Logo
Home link

Lin-Manuel Miranda and Hamilton Stars Pay Tribute to 40th Anniversary of A Chorus Line

The cast of the landmark musicals joined together for an unforgettable evening at the Public Theater.

Hamilton stars Phillipa Soo, Daveed Diggs, Lin-Manuel Miranda, Betsy Struxness, Leslie Odom Jr., and Jonathan Groff evoke the iconic opening number from A Chorus Line.
(© Kristin Goehring)

The Public Theater and the cast of Hamilton paid tribute to the 40th anniversary of the landmark musical A Chorus Line on Thursday, April 16, the date the show was first performed in 1975 at the Public's Newman Theater.

To commemorate the occasion, the cast of Hamilton presented original Chorus Line cast members with a plaque that will hang in the Ford Foundation Lobby of the Public. Alumni who attended included Tony winners Donna McKechnie, Kelly Bishop, and Priscilla Lopez, along with Scott Allen, Renee Baughman, Chuck Cissel, Kay Cole, Ronald Dennis, Brandt Edwards, Nancy Lane, Patricia Garland, Carolyn Kirsch, Ronald Kuhlman, Baayork Lee, Carole Schweid, Michael Serrecchia, and Tony winner Sammy Williams.

Following the Hamilton bows, the cast re-created the iconic opening number of A Chorus Line, complete with head shots in front of their faces, before the male ensemble sang "Who Am I Anyway?" Then, the ladies of the cast performed "What I Did for Love," as the original Chorus Line stars made their way to the stage to take a bow.

The original Public production, which premiered April 16, 1975, ran for 101 performances. A Chorus Line features a book by Nicholas Dante and James Kirkwood, lyrics by Edward Kleban, and music by Marvin Hamlisch. Conceived and originally directed and choreographed by Michael Bennett, it transferred to Broadway following its Public Theater run, going on to win eight 1976 Tony Awards, including Best Musical.