TheaterMania Logo
Home link

Eoghan Quinn's Bears in Space Takes Home Three 1st Irish Festival Awards

Origin's 9th Annual festival also recognized the cell's production of Crackskull Row.

Aaron Heffernan and Jack Gleeson in Bears in Space at 59E59 Theaters, winner of three Origin's 1st Irish Festival awards.
(© Idil Sukan)

The 9th annual Origin's 1st Irish Theatre Festival awards ceremony saw Eoghan Quinn's Bears in Space, produced by Dublin's Collapsing Horse and presented at 59E59 Theaters, take home three awards, with Honor Molloy's Crackskull Row, produced in New York by the cell, picking up the awards for Best Direction and Best Production.

Hosted by the actress Carey Van Driest at The American Irish Historical Society the awards also recognized Sonya Kelly as Best Actress in How to Keep an Alien and Dermot Crowley for his performance in Brian Friel's Afterplay which is currently scheduled to run through November 6 at the Irish Repertory Theatre.

The list of nominees is as follows, with winners in bold:

Best Actress
Sonya Kelly (How to Keep an Alien)
Antoinette LaVecchia (The Birds)
Helen McMillan (Dorothy of Nowhere)
Dearbhla Molloy (Afterplay)

Best Actor
Dermot Crowley (Afterplay)
Colin Lane (Crackskull Row)
Patrick O'Kane (Quietly)
Tim Ruddy (Appendage)

Best Director
Dan Colley (Bears in Space)
Stefan Dzeparoski (The Birds)
Jimmy Fay (Quietly)
Kira Simring (Crackskull Row)

Best Playwright
Sonya Kelly (How to Keep an Alien)
Honor Molloy (Crackskull Row)
Owen McCafferty (Quietly)
Eoghan Quinn (Bears in Space)

Best Design
Bears in Space

The Birds
Crackskull Row

Best Production
Bears in Space
Crackskull Row

How to Keep an Alien

Bears in Space also received the Special Jury Prize on its ensemble cast, which included Quinn, Aaron Heffernan, Cameron Macauley, and Jack Gleeson.

In addition the Festival Fringe Award went to the cast and crew of Wilde at Home; the Bairbre Dowling Spirit of the Festival Award went to Jane McCarter, director of arts and culture at the New York Irish Center in Long Island City; and the Audience Choice Award went to Thomas Burns Scully for Dorothy of Nowhere.

This year's panel of judges includes Wall Street Journal and MarketWatch cultural observer Quentin Fottrell, Irish America Magazine editor and cofounder Patricia Harty, editor in chief Andy Lefkowitz, fashion executive Laurianne Listo, and Doug Reside, curator of the Theater Division at the NY Public Library for the Performing Arts at Lincoln Center.