TheaterMania Logo
Home link
Theater News

Daniel Breaker, Gavin Creel, Anne Hathaway, Martha Plimpton, et al. Set for 2009 Obie Awards

Daniel Breaker
(© Tristan Fuge)
Daniel Breaker and Martha Plimpton will co-host the 2009 Obie Awards, which will be presented at Webster Hall on May 18. The awards will also be streamed live on

The awards, which honor work Off-Broadway and Off-Off-Broadway, are structured with informal categories that change annually. Unlike most theater awards, there are no nominations, and the judges may give several Obies in each category, and may even invent new categories to reward artistic merit.

Presenters for the ceremony will include Anne Hathaway. Brian d'Arcy James, Sasha Allen, Gavin Creel, Karen Olivo, John Shea, Kate Mulgrew, and Marc Kudisch.

This year's committee is chaired by The Village Voice's chief theater critic, Michael Feingold, and includes Alexis Soloski, Eric Grode, TheaterMania contributor Andy Propst, Eisa Davis, Ty Jones, Moises Kaufman, and Chay Yew.

A new component to this year's festivities will be the Creative Block & OBIES AFTER PARTY, a multidisciplinary arts event that will include burlesque, digital art, performance art, dance and fiber arts from New York's creative emerging artists and avant-garde underground. Michael Musto will host. The evening will culminate with an after-party featuring DJ Randy Bettis.

For more information, visit

Tagged in this Story