TheaterMania Logo
Home link
Theater News

Halley Feiffer, Raúl Esparza, Alice Ripley Set for Powerhouse Theater Season

Feiffer will appear in a reading of her play The Pain of My Belligerence.

Trip Cullman and Halley Feiffer will collaborate on The Pain of My Belligerence.
(© David Gordon)

Vassar and New York Stage and Film have announced casting for its 34th Powerhouse Season, running June 22-July 29.

The mainstage production of The Waves, the musical adapted from the novel by Virginia Woolf with book by Lisa Peterson, music and lyrics by David Bucknam, additional music by Adam Gwon, and direction by Peterson will feature Raúl Esparza, who also serves as creative consultant for the production, Ken Barnett, Eleasha Gamble, Douglas Lyons, Alice Ripley, and Lauren Worsham. The Waves will play July 19-29.

The workshop presentation of Alice by Heart, the new musical with book by Steven Sater and Jessie Nelson, music by Duncan Sheik, lyrics by Sater, and direction by Nelson, will star Alex Brightman, Noah Galvin, Molly Gordon, Megan Masako Haley, Zachary Infante, Gizel Jiménez, J. Quinton Johnson, Lesli Margherita, Heath Saunders, and Don Stephenson. It will run July 5-7.

The following casting has been announced for Readings Festival #1, running June 22-24.

Playwright Halley Feiffer will appear in the reading of her new play The Pain of My Belligerence under the direction of Trip Cullman. The reading will also feature Michael Esper, Vanessa Kai, and Amaya Press.

Lick o'the Knife (June 23), written by Jackie Roberts and directed by Kent Gash, will feature McKinley Belcher, Carson Elrod, Walker Jones, Carolyn Michelle Smith, J.D. Mollison, and Christina Pumeriega.

On That Day in Amsterdam, (June 23) written by Clarence Coo and directed by Kareem Fahmy, will star Frankie J. Alvarez, Julian Cihi, James Cusati-Moyer, Rocky Vega, and Justin Walker White.

Milk and Honey, (June 24) written by rupi kaur, based on her best-selling book of poetry, and directed by Leah C. Gardiner, will include Dahlia Azama, Denée Benton, Mahira Kakkar, Susannah Perkins, and Nadine Malouf.

The Hole (June 24), written by Sarah Gancher and directed by Danya Taymor, will feature Betsy Aidem, Brittany Allen, Heidi Armbruster, Marc Bovino, Jacob Faunce, Joel Marsh Garland, and Andy Grotelueschen.

As previously announced, Radio Island, written by Liza Birkenmeier and directed by Jaki Bradley, will star Pascale Armand, Adina Verson, Maryann Plunkett, Stephen Tyrone Williams, Kelly AuCoin, and Birgit Huppuch. It will run June 28-July 8.


Tagged in this Story