TheaterMania Logo
Home link

James Earl Jones-Led You Can't Take It With You Announces Further Casting

The revival begins in August at Broadway's Longacre Theatre.

Tony Award winner James Earl Jones will star in the revival of You Can't Take It With You at the Longacre Theatre.
(© Joe Marzullo)

More casting has been announced for the upcoming Broadway revival of Moss Hart and George S. Kaufman's Pulitzer Prize-winning play You Can't Take It With You.

The company will now include Will Brill (Act One) as Ed Carmichael, Fran Kranz (Death of a Salesman) as Tony Kirby, Johanna Day (August: Osage County) as Mrs. Kirby; Nick Corley (The Mystery of Edwin Drood), Austin Durant (War Horse), and Joe Tapper (Witnessed by the World) as the three G-men, as well as Barrett Doss, Ned Noyes, Pippa Pearthree as understudies.

They join the previously announced two-time Tony Award winner James Earl Jones (Gore Vidal's The Best Man) as Martin Vanderhof, two-time Emmy and Golden Globe nominee Rose Byrne (Bridesmaids) as Alice Sycamore, Elizabeth Ashley (Cat on a Hot Tin Roof) as The Grand Duchess Olga, Tony Award nominee Annaleigh Ashford (Kinky Boots) as Essie Carmichael, Byron Jennings (The Merchant of Venice) as Mr. Kirby, Mark Linn-Baker (My Favorite Year) as Paul Sycamore, Tony Award nominee Kristine Nielsen (Vanya and Sonia and Masha and Spike) as Penelope Sycamore, Tony Award nominee Reg Rogers (Holiday) as Boris Kolenkhov, Crystal A. Dickinson (Clybourne Park) as Rheba, Julie Halston (Anything Goes) as Gay Wellington, Marc Damon Johnson (Lucky Guy) as Donald, and Patrick Kerr (Stage Kiss) as Mr. De Pinna.

Directed by six-time Tony nominee Scott Ellis (The Mystery of Edwin Drood), the play follows two families, the Sycamores and the Kirbys, whose worlds collide when their children become engaged. Three-time Tony-winning composer Jason Robert Brown (The Bridges of Madison County) will lend original music.

Performances will begin August 26 at the Longacre Theatre in advance of a September 28 opening.

For tickets and more information, click here.