TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

You Can't Stop the Beat: Hairspray Cast Recording Wins Grammy logo

With the theater awards season still a few months away, the Broadway musical has already won at least one major award: the Grammy for Musical Show Album.

Marc Shaiman (music and lyrics) and Scott Wittman (lyrics) were honored for their work at the 45th annual Grammy ceremony last night. The score for the hit musical -- based on the 1988 John Waters film -- is heavily steeped in 1960s pop style, with such songs as "Good Morning Baltimore," "Welcome to the '60s," and "You Can't Stop the Beat." The cast of the Broadway production is represented on the recording and includes Harvey Fierstein (Torch Song Trilogy), Marissa Jaret Winokur (Grease!), Kerry Butler (Beauty and the Beast), Dick Latessa (Damn Yankees), Mary Bond Davis (Marie Christine), and Linda Hart (Anything Goes).

Among the other cast recordings nominated for the Grammy won by Hairspray were those of last year's Tony Award winning Best Musical Thoroughly Modern Millie, last year's Tony winning Best Musical Revival Into the Woods, and last year's Tony winner for Best Special Event Elaine Stritch At Liberty, plus a recording of the 50th anniversary touring production of Guys and Dolls starring Maurice Hines.

Tagged in this Story