TheaterMania Logo
Home link

Will Reynolds and Eric Price Announced as Winners of 14th Annual Fred Ebb Award

The award, named in honor of the late award-winning lyricist Fred Ebb, will be presented by Alan Cumming.

Will Reynolds and Eric Price are the 2018 recipients of the Fred Ebb Award.
(© Matt Ross PR)

The Fred Ebb Foundation in association with the Roundabout Theatre Company will present the 14th annual Fred Ebb Award for aspiring musical theater songwriters to Will Reynolds and Eric Price. The award, named in honor of the late award-winning lyricist Fred Ebb, will be presented by Alan Cumming on Monday, November 26 at a by-invitation-only ceremony in the Penthouse Lounge of the American Airlines Theatre.

The Fred Ebb Award recognizes excellence in musical theater songwriting by a songwriter or songwriting team that has not yet achieved significant commercial success. The award is meant to encourage and support aspiring songwriters to create new works for the musical theater. The prize includes a $60,000 award. In addition to the monetary prize, the Fred Ebb Foundation will produce a one-night-only showcase of the winner's work. The Fred Ebb Foundation is funded by royalties from the composer's vast catalogue of work. Past winners include John Bucchino (2005), Steve Lutvak and Robert L. Freedman (2006), Peter Mills (2007), Adam Gwon (2008), Marcy Heisler & Zina Goldrich (2009), Douglas C. Cohen (2010), Jeff Blumenkrantz (2011), Sam Willmott (2012), Michael Kooman and Christopher Dimond (2013), Chris Miller and Nathan Tysen (2014), Stacey Luftig and Phillip Palmer (2015), Thomas Mizer and Curtis Moore (2016), and Shaina Taub (2017).

The selection panel is comprised of actress Andréa Burns, Foundation Trustee Mitchell S. Bernard, lyricist and composer Sheldon Harnick, music director David Loud, music director Mary-Mitchell Campbell, and playwright Tim Pinckney. Each year, the Foundation also makes a donation to Broadway Cares/Equity Fights AIDS.