TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Mary-Louise Parker, Debra Monk, and More Join 2014-15 Tony Awards Nominating Committee

Meet the people who will decide the 2015 Tony nominations. logo
Tony and Emmy winner Mary-Louse Parker will help decide the 2015 Tony Award nominees.
(© David Gordon)

A host of acclaimed theatrical writers, directors, actors, designers, and producers will decide the nominations for the 2015 Tony Awards. The committee members attend all of the productions during the Broadway season and then vote during a secret meeting to determine the people and productionsof the 2014-15 season can use the words "Tony Award nominee" next to their names.

New members for the 2014-2015 season include Barry Brown (retired Broadway producer), Paul Cremo (director of Opera Commissioning Program, The Metropolitan Opera), Harvey Evans (actor), Paul Gallo (lighting designer), Jenny Gersten (executive director, Friends of the Highline), Jack Hofsiss (theater/film/television director), Kate Levin (Cultural Assets Management Principals, Bloomberg Associates), Reynold Levy (former president of Lincoln Center), Patricia Marx (humorist), Jim McLaughlin (former producer, CBS News), Roger Morgan (lighting designer), Debra Monk (actor), Katherine Oliver (media executive), Christian Parker (associate artistic director, Atlantic Theater Company), Mary-Louise Parker (actor), Ravi S. Rajan (dean, School of the Arts at SUNY Purchase), Nigel Redden (director, Lincoln Center Festival), Susan H. Schulman (director), Wynn Thomas (projection designer), Preston Whiteway (executive director, The Eugene O'Neill Theater Center).

Returning members include Douglas Aibel (artistic director, The Vineyard Theatre), Arin Arbus (associate artistic director, Theatre for a New Audience), Ira Bernstein (former producer/general manager/stage manager), Susan Birkenhead (lyricist), Mark Brokaw (theatrical director), Donald Byrd (choreographer), Ben Cameron (program director for the arts, Doris Duke Charitable Foundation), Mary Schmidt Campbell (dean, Tisch School of the Arts), Veronica Claypool (arts management consultant, Full Circle Management), John Darnton (former cultural editor of The New York Times), Jacqueline Z. Davis (executive director, The New York Public Library for the Performing Arts), and Rick Elice (playwright).

Members also include Kent Gash (director, NYU Tisch School of the Arts' New Studio on Broadway), Liza Gennaro (choreographer), Adam Guettel (composer/lyricist), Wendall K. Harrington (projection designer), Philip Himberg (producing artistic director, Sundance Institute Theatre Program), Ann Hould-Ward (costume designer), Julie Hughes (former casting director), Cheyenne Jackson (actor), Stephen Karam (playwright), Corby Kummer (senior editor, The Atlantic magazine), Dick Latessa (actor), John Leguizamo (actor/playwright), Sara Lukinson (documentary film producer), Marsha Mason (actor/playwright), Scott Schwartz (director), Linda Shelton (executive director, Joyce Theatre Foundation), Arlene Shuler (president and CEO, New York City Center), and Robin Wagner (scenic designer).


Tagged in this Story