TheaterMania Logo
Home link

Hailey Kilgore, Denise Gough, Noma Dumezweni, and More Win Theatre World Awards

The winners will all be honored at the 74th annual ceremony on June 4.

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child's Noma Dumezweni is one of the winners of the 2018 Theatre World Awards.
(© Seth Walters)

The Theatre World Awards board of directors has announced the 2018 honorees for Outstanding Broadway or Off-Broadway Debut Performance. All 12 winners will be celebrated at the 74th Annual Theatre World Awards Ceremony on the set of the Broadway revival of Once on This Island the afternoon of Monday, June 4, at Circle in the Square Theatre.

This year's winners, in alphabetical order, are Anthony Boyle (Harry Potter and the Cursed Child), Jamie Brewer (Amy and the Orphans), Noma Dumezweni (Harry Potter and the Cursed Child), Johnny Flynn (Hangmen), Denise Gough (Angels in America), Harry Hadden-Paton (My Fair Lady), Hailey Kilgore (Once on This Island), James McArdle (Angels in America), Lauren Ridloff (Children of a Lesser God), Ethan Slater (SpongeBob SquarePants), Charlie Stemp (Hello, Dolly!), and Katy Sullivan (Cost of Living).

As previously announced, Victor Garber will receive the sixth annual John Willis Award for Lifetime Achivement in the Theatre. The winner of the 10th annual Dorothy Loudon Award for Excellence in the Theater will be announced later.

This year's Theatre World Awards will be hosted by Peter Filichia and directed by Stephen Nachamie. Owing to the beachfront set of Once on This Island at the Circle in the Square, the attire for the afternoon is described as "festive island wear." A party will follow at the Copacabana Rooftop.