TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

The Grand Tour

Controversy notwithstanding, the first annual National Broadway Theatre Awards will be handed out on May 21 at The Supper Club. logo

Dame Edna: The Royal Tour
Having weathered logistical problems and a conflict with Actors' Equity (since resolved), the National Broadway Theatre Awards will be presented at a gala dinner on May 21 at The Supper Club in New York City, more or less as planned. On Friday, May 11, Jed Bernstein--president of the League of American Theatres and Producers--announced the winners of the awards, which are dedicated to honoring excellence in Broadway touring shows.

This is the first year for the awards. The winners were chosen via internet by theatergoers across the country. Performers and creative contributors for 30 touring shows were eligible, and nearly 15,000 people reportedly voted for their favorites.

The awards will be presented by Alan Cumming (Cabaret, Design for Living) and Sherie René Scott (Disney's Aida) at The Supper Club ceremony. A complete list of the winners follows.

Best Musical:

Best Play:
Dame Edna: The Royal Tour

Best Actor, Musical:
David Pittu as Leo Frank in Parade

Best Actor, Play:
Barry Humphries as Dame Edna in Dame Edna: The Royal Tour

Best Actress, Musical:
Louise Pitre as Donna Sheridan (Mamma Mia!)

Best Actress, Play:
Sherri Parker Lee in The Vagina Monologues

Best Song in a Musical:
"'Til We Reach That Day" from Ragtime, music by Stephen Flaherty, lyrics by Lynn Ahrens

Best Score:
Les Misérables, music by Claude-Michel Schönberg, lyrics by Alain Boublil, English lyrics by Herbert Kretzmer

Best Direction:
Sam Mendes and Rob Marshall for Cabaret

Best Choreography:
Bob Fosse for Fosse

Best Visual Presentation:
Stanley A. Meyer (scenic design) and Natasha Katz (lighting design), for Disney's Beauty and the Beast

Best Costumes:
Ann Hould-Ward for Disney's Beauty and the Beast

Tagged in this Story