TheaterMania Logo
Home link

The Flea Theater's The Mysteries Extends Off-Broadway Run Through July 14

Drama Desk Special Award Winner Ed Sylvanus Iskandar directs.

Drama Desk Special Award Winner Ed Sylvanus Iskandar helms The Flea Theater's The Mysteries, which has extended through July 14.
(© David Gordon)

The Flea Theater has announced that its world premiere of The Mysteries, commissioned by Jim Simpson and Carol Ostrow, has extended through July 14. The production is directed by Drama Desk Special Award Winner Ed Sylvanus Iskandar and features costume design by Drama Desk nominee Loren Shaw.

The Mysteries is a radical retelling of the Bible featuring the work of playwrights including Tony Award and Academy Award winners and nominees David Henry Hwang, Craig Lucas, Billy Porter, José Rivera, and Jeff Whitty, as well as Flea alumni Mallery Avidon, Trista Baldwin, Erin Courtney, Yussef El Guindi, Amy Freed, Sean Graney, Nick Jones, Qui Nguyen, and Jenny Schwartz.

Writers include Marc Acito, Johnna Adams, Liz Duffy Adams, Bill Cain, CollaborationTown, Jorge Ignacio Cortiñas, Eisa Davis, Gabriel Jason Dean, Chris Dimond, Madeleine George, Kate Gersten, Sevan K. Greene, Kirsten Greenidge, Lillian Groag, Jordan Harrison, Lucas Hnath, Ann Marie Healy, Meghan Kennedy, Kimber Lee, Kenneth Lin, Laura Marks, Ellen McLaughlin, Michael Mitnick, Don Nguyen, Dael Orlandersmith, A. Rey Pamatmat, Max Posner, Kate Moira Ryan, Najla Said, Jordan Seavey, Matthew Stephen Smith, Lloyd Suh, Jason Williamson, and Bess Wohl.

Joining Iskandar as key collaborator is dramaturg Jill Rafson. The Mysteries features The Bats, the resident acting company of The Flea Theater.

For tickets and more information, click here.