TheaterMania Logo
Home link

Sutton Foster to Host 2015 National High School Musical Theatre Awards

The "Jimmy Awards" will be presented at the Minskoff Theatre.

Sutton Foster will host the 2015 Jimmy Awards.
(© David Gordon)

Two-time Tony Award winner Sutton Foster (The Wild Party) will host the 2015 National High School Musical Theatre Awards, to be held June 29 at 7:30pm at Broadway's Minskoff Theatre.

The National High School Musical Theatre Awards, also referred to as the Jimmy Awards in honor of producer James M. Nederlander, features student performers from 52 high schools across America, in competition for Best Actor and Best Actress honors. Students qualify to compete in the national program by winning top honors at regional high school musical theater awards competitions presented by Broadway League member performing arts centers. Over 1,000 high schools and 50,000 students participate in these annual events.

Since its inception in 2009, the NHSMTA has enabled over $1,000,000 in university and conservatory scholarships to be awarded to talented students at the national and local level. NHSMTA nominees will prepare for their Broadway debut during a five-day professional training intensive with NYU Tisch School of the Arts' New Studio on Broadway faculty members plus other theater professionals.

Winners will be selected by a panel of judges comprising notable theater professionals including Tony Award-winning producers and award-winning casting experts: Kent Gash, Rachel Hoffman C.S.A., Arielle Tepper Madover, Alecia Parker, Tara Rubin C.S.A., Nick Scandalios, Thomas Schumacher, and Bernie Telsey C.S.A.

Foster's many Broadway credits include Violet, The Drowsy Chaperone, Young Frankenstein, Shrek The Musical, and Thoroughly Modern Millie. She is also known for the television shows Bunheads and Younger. Foster will star in the Encores! Off-Center production of The Wild Party this summer.

For the full list of 2015 nominees, click here.