TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Steinberg Distinguished Playwright "Mimi" Award to be Presented on October 29 logo
Michael Steinberg, Lynn Nottage,
Carol Krumland, James Steinberg at the
2010 "Mimi" Awards Ceremony
(© David Gordon)
The Harold and Mimi Steinberg Charitable Trust will host the fifth annual Steinberg Playwright "Mimi" Awards on Monday, October 29 at Lincoln Center Theater.

The Mimi Awards promote theater by nurturing American playwrights and encouraging the development and production of new American plays. The trust will present the biennial Steinberg Distinguished Playwright Award at this year's ceremony to honor an American playwright whose body of work has made significant contributions to the theater. Past recipients include Tony Kushner and Lynn Nottage. The prize also comes with a $200,000 cash award.

Recipients of Steinberg Playwright Awards, presented to writers who exhibit talent and promise in the early stages of their career include Lisa D'Amour, Melissa James Gibson (2011), David Adjmi, Tarrell Alvin McCraney, and Bruce Norris (2009).

The 2012 Advisory Committee is comprised of Susan Booth, Artistic Director of the Alliance Theater; Jeremy Cohen, Producing Artistic Director, The Playwrights' Center; Todd London, Artistic Director of New Dramatists; Lynne Meadow, Artistic Director, Manhattan Theater Club; Kwame Kwei-Armah, Artistic Director, CENTERSTAGE; Bill Rauch, Artistic Director, Oregon Shakespeare Festival; and Neil Pepe, Artistic Director, Atlantic Theater Company. The members of the Board of Directors of The Harold and Mimi Steinberg Charitable Trust are Carole A. Krumland, James D. Steinberg, Michael A. Steinberg, Seth M. Weingarten and William D. Zabel.

Tagged in this Story