TheaterMania Logo
Home link

Jonny Lee Miller, Sheridan Smith, Matthew Warchus Among 2012 Olivier Winners

Jonny Lee Miller
(© Joseph Marzullo/WENN)
The winners of the 2012 Olivier Awards have been announced. The prizes were presented in a ceremony hosted by Michael Ball and Imelda Staunton and held at the Royal Opera House in London. The awards were also streamed globally online and select nominees attended the awards ceremony through a simulcast to New York held in the Allen Room at Jazz at Lincoln Center.

Matilda received a record-breaking seven Oliviers, including Best Musical, Best Actress in a Musical for Cleo Demetriou, Kerry Ingram, Sophia Kiely and Eleanor Worthington-Cox, the four actresses who play the title role, one for Best Actor in a Musical for Bertie Carvel, one for Best Choreography for Peter Darling, and one for Simon Baker for his sound design on the show. As previously reported, Matilda is slated to begin performances on Broadway in the spring of 2013.

In addition, the show's director, Matthew Warchus, who is directing Broadway's Ghost the Musical, accepted the Olivier Award for Best Direction of the musical Matilda in New York from presenter James Earl Jones, who made a passionate speech about the importance of directors and also trans-Atlantic collaboration. Additionally, Rob Howell received his award for Best Scenic design at the Allen Room.

Among the winners in non-musical categories are John Hodge, who won the Olivier Best Play Award for Collaborators; Ruth Wilson for Best Actress for her performance in Anna Christie, and Rob Ashford accepted this production's award for Best Revival.

Jonny Lee Miller and Benedict Cumberbatch were named Best Actor for their performances as both the creature and his creator in Frankenstein, and Sheridan Smith has received the Best Performance in a Supporting Role for her performance in Flare Path.

Click here for more information about the Olivier Awards.

Click here for TheaterMania's Guide to Theater Awards.