TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

South Florida's Carbonell Award Winners Announced logo
The Actors' Playhouse production of Floyd Collins dominated the 28th annual Carbonnell Awards, which were announced today, winning seven awards. Disney's touring productions of The Lion King and Aida dominated the non-resident category.

A special achievement award was presented to Nilo Cruz for his Pulitzer Prize-winning play Anna in the Tropics, and the George Abbott Award for Outstanding Achievement in the Arts was presented to Alex W. Dreyfoos and Carl L. Mayhue for their work in the creation of the region's largest performing arts centers, the Raymond F. Kravis Center for the Performing Arts in Palm Beach and the Broward Center for the Performing Arts, and to Robert B. Lochie, Jr. for his work with the Broward Performing Arts Foundation.

Elizabeth Boone, artistic and executive director of the Miami Light Project, received the 2003 Howard Kleinberg Award for her work in developing new voices throughout the multicultural community. Dorothy Willis, president and producer of Tamarac's White-Willis Theatre company, was given the Ruth Foreman Award for her contributions to the development of South Florida's theater community. The Bill Hindman Award for significant, long-term contributions and onstage achievement was bestowed on actor David Kwiat, who also won a Carbonell Award for his performance in Dirty Blonde.

A complete list of the winners is below. For additional information about the Carbonell Awards, visit


Non-Resident Productions:
Best Production: The Lion King
Best Director: Julie Taymor, The Lion King
Best Actor: Jeremy Kushnier, Aida
Best Actress: Paulette Ivory, Aida

Regional Awards:
New Work: Ivonne Azurdia, Tin Box Boomerang
Best Ensemble Production: Constant Star

Best Production: Constant Star
Best Direction: Michael Hall, Fortune's Fool
Best Actor: John Felix, Fortune's Fool
Best Actress: Laura Turnbull, Crimes of the Heart
Best Supporting Actor: David Kwiat, Dirty Blonde
Best Supporting Actress: Mayhill Fowler, The Last Schwartz

Best Production: Floyd Collins
Best Director: David Arisco, Floyd Collins
Best Actor: Tally Sessions, Floyd Collins
Best Actress: Laura Turnbull, Blood Brothers
Best Supporting Actor: John Paul Almon, Romeo & Bernadette
Best Supporting Actress: Irene Adjan, Blood Brothers
Musical Direction: Eric Alsford, Floyd Collins
Choreography: Reggie Whitehead, Zombie Prom

Best Scenic Design: Gene Seyffer, Floyd Collins
Best Lighting Design: Stuart Reiter, Floyd Collins
Best Costume Design: Mary Lynne Izzo, Big Bang
Best Sound Design: Nate Rausch, Floyd Collins

Tagged in this Story