TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Songwriters Brian Holland, Lamont Dozier, and Eddie Holland to Receive Johnny Mercer Award logo
Songwriters Brian Holland, Lamont Dozier and Eddie Holland will receive the Johnny Mercer Award on Thursday, June 18 at the Marrriot Marquis.

The trio have written the score for the Broadway-bound musical, The First Wives Club, which will be presented at the Old Globe Theatre in San Diego, July 17-August 23. They are known as the architects of the Motown sound, and wrote such monumental hits as "Where Did Our Love Go?," "Baby Love," and "Stop! In The Name of Love."

The Johnny Mercer Award is given to a writer or team of writers already inducted into the Songwriters Hall of Fame and judged by the nominating committee as having established a history of outstanding creative works. Past recipients include Sammy Cahn, Alan Jay Lerner, Jerry Herman, Jule Styne, Cy Coleman, Burt Bacharach, Stephen Sondheim, and Stevie Wonder.


Tagged in this Story