TheaterMania Logo
Home link

Stephen Adly Guirgis, Lynn Nottage, and More Receive Signature Residencies

Dave Malloy and Dominique Morisseau complete the quartet of dramatists who will join the organization's many writing programs.

Dominique Morisseau has joined the residency programs at Signature Theatre.
(© Tricia Baron)

Pulitzer Prize-winning playwrights Stephen Adly Guirgis and Lynn Nottage, as well as Obie winner Dave Malloy and Kennedy Prize for Drama winner Dominique Morisseau have joined the residency programs at off-Broadway's Signature Theatre.

Guirgis, whose works include Between Riverside and Crazy and The Last Days of Judas Iscariot, will be Signature's Residency One playwright in the 2017-18 season, with Nottage (Ruined, Sweat) as the Residency One playwright during the 2018-19 season. Residency One is Signature's core program, which explores a single writer's body of work.

Malloy (The Great Comet) and Morisseau (Skeleton Crew) will join Signature's Residency Five program, which guarantees playwrights three premieres over five years. Malloy, who will be the first musical-theater writer to have a residency at Signature, and Morisseau, will join current Residency Five playwrights Annie Baker, Martha Clarke, Will Eno, Katori Hall, Quiara Alegría Hudes, Branden Jacobs-Jenkins, Kenneth Lonergan, and Regina Taylor.

Titles, dates, and creative teams will be announced at a later date.