TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Shaina Taub to Receive 2017 Fred Ebb Award

The honor is for up-and-coming musical-theater songwriters. logo
Shaina Taub will receive the 2017 Fred Ebb Award.
(© Tricia Baron)

Shaina Taub will receive the 13th annual Fred Ebb Award for aspiring musical-theater songwriters. The honor will be presented Brian Stokes Mitchell on Monday, November 27, at the American Airlines Theatre.

The Fred Ebb Award recognizes excellence in musical-theater songwriting, by a songwriter or songwriting team that has not yet achieved significant commercial success. The award, which comes with a $60,000 prize and a one-night-only showcase of the winner's work, is meant to encourage and support aspiring songwriters to create new works for the musical theater. The selection panel comprises Kate Baldwin, Mitchell S. Bernard, Sheldon Harnick, Telly Leung, David Loud, and Tim Pinckney.

Taub's musical adaptations of Shakespeare's Twelfth Night and As You Like It were commissioned by the Public Theater and produced as part of their Public Works initiative. She wrote songs for and starred in Bill Irwin and David Shiner's Old Hats, and composed the theme for the Julie Andrews Netflix series Julie's Greenroom as well as several tunes for Sesame Street. Taub is currently writing a new musical about Alice Paul and the American women's suffrage movement.


Tagged in this Story