TheaterMania Logo
Photo Flash

Celia Keenan-Bolger, Maria Dizzia, and More Honor Sarah Ruhl With Steinberg Award

Ruhl is the recipient of the 2016 Steinberg Distinguished Playwright Award. logo

Playwright Sarah Ruhl was honored with the 2016 Steinberg Distinguished Playwright Award, presented by the Harold and Mimi Steinberg Charitable Trust, on Monday, November 14, at Lincoln Center Theater's Mitzi E. Newhouse Theater.

The evening featured remarks by Lynne Meadow, artistic director of Manhattan Theatre Club; James Lundy of Yale Repertory Theatre; and Todd London, executive director and professor at University of Washington's School of Drama.

It also featured performances from Ruhl's plays. Celia Keenan-Bolger performed the epilogue from The Oldest Boy; Blair Brown, Jessica Hecht, and Polly Noonan read essays from 100 Essays I Don't Have Time to Write; Maria Dizzia and Joseph J. Parks, original cast members from the off-Broadway production of Eurydice, performed a scene from the show; and Kathleen Chalfant performed a monologue from For Peter Pan on Her 70th Birthday.

The Steinberg Distinguished Playwright Award, which comes with a cash prize of $200,000, is presented biennially to honor and encourage the artistic excellence and achievement of an American playwright whose body of work has made significant contributions to the American theater. Ruhl's plays include The Clean House, Dead Man's Cell Phone, Passion Play, and others.