TheaterMania Logo
Home link

Samantha Marie Ware, Rachel York, James Gardiner, and More Receive Helen Hayes Awards

The 30th annual Helen Hayes Awards were presented at a glitzy event on April 21.

Recipients of 2014's Helen Hayes Awards were announced on April 21 at an event in Washington, D.C. The awards, which honor the work of theater artists in the D.C. area, went to productions at Shakespeare Theatre Company, Arena Stage, Woolly Mammoth Theatre Company, and many more.

Actors and creatives recognized by the awards included Mitchell Hébert for Outstanding Director of Glengarry Glen Ross at Round House Theatre, Diana Huey for Outstanding Lead Actress in Miss Saigon at Signature Theatre, and Rick Foucheux for Outstanding Lead Actor in Round Houses' Glengarry Glen Ross. The Book of Mormon and Anything Goes were the season's visiting productions that received awards.

Ted van Griethuysen received the James MacArthur Award for Outstanding Supporting Actor for his work in The Studio Theatre production of The Apple Family Plays, which premiered in New York at The Public last year. In addition, New York favorite Joaquina Kalukango reprised her role in Katori Hall's The Mountaintop (originally at the Alley Theatre) in an Arena Stage production.

Click here for a full list of winners, and check out the photos from Monday night's festivities below.