TheaterMania Logo
Home link

Musical-Theater Writers Sam Carner and Sam Willmott Receive 2015 Kleban Prizes

The honors were presented in a ceremony on June 22.

Sam Carner and Sam Willmott are this year's Kleban Prize recipients.
(© Kristin Goehring)

The Kleban Foundation presented the 25th annual Kleban Prizes to musical-theater writers Sam Willmott and Sam Carner at a private ceremony on June 22.

Matt Aument and Tony Sheldon flank Kleban Prize recipient Sam Willmott.
(© Kristin Goehring)

Kleban Prize winners are selected by judging panels composed of theater artists and administrators. The judges making the final determination this year were Tony-nominated actor Kerry Butler (Clinton the Musical); multi-arts presenter, artistic director, creative consultant, theater producer, and manager Wiley Hausam; and Oscar winner and Tony Award-nominated composer David Shire (Big).

Stephen Christopher Anthony, Emily Rogers, and Derek Gregor celebrate Kleban Prize winner Sam Carner.
(© Kristin Goehring)

The Kleban Foundation was established in 1988 under the will of Edward L. Kleban, best known as the Tony- and Pulitzer Prize-winning lyricist of the musical A Chorus Line. Kleban's will made provisions for two annual prizes, which in recent years have totaled $100,000 each, payable over two years, to be given to the most promising lyricist and librettist in American Musical Theatre.

Sam Willmott and Sam Carner (center) are flanked by ASCAP honchos including Sheldon Harnick and Maury Yeston (both seated), and Andrew Bishop, John Weideman, and Richard Maltby Jr. (both standing).
(© Kristin Goehring)