TheaterMania Logo
Home link

Roger Rees to Be Posthumously Inducted Into Theater Hall of Fame

Julie Taymor, Tony Kushner, and Stacy Keach are also among the 2015 inductees.

Roger Rees takes his bow on the opening night of Kander and Ebb's The Visit, his final Broadway production.
(© David Gordon)

The 45th Annual Theater Hall of Fame inductees will be honored for their Lifetime Achievement in the American Theater on Monday, November 16, at Broadway's Gershwin Theatre.

The list of 2015 inductees includes Tony-winning playwright Tony Kushner (Angels in America), Tony-winning composers Lynn Ahrens and Stephen Flaherty (Ragtime), Tony-winning director Julie Taymor (The Lion King), Tony-winning director and Goodman Theatre artistic director Robert Falls (Death of a Salesman), Tony-nominated actor Stacy Keach (Other Desert Cities), Tony-winning lighting designer Ken Billington (Chicago), Broadway publicist Merle Debuskey, and posthumously, Tony-winning actor Roger Rees (The Visit), who died on July 10.

The Theater Hall of Fame for Lifetime Achievement in the American Theater, which annually honors theater professionals, was founded in 1970 by James M. Nederlander, Earl Blackwell, and Gerard Oestreicher. Eligible honorees must have 25 years of experience on Broadway with five major credits or be an off-Broadway or regional-theater founder or pioneer.