TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Rob Ashford, Kathleen Marshall to Stage Musical Numbers for Stage Directors and Choreographers Society Gala logo
Rob Ashford
(© Joseph Marzullo/Retna)
Rob Ashford and Kathleen Marshall will stage numbers for the Stage Directors and Choreographers Society 50th Anniversary Gala to be held on November 8 at the Tribeca Rooftop. Ashford and Marshall's work will be part of a musical tribute to the union's founding members, which will feature musical numbers from shows originally produced in 1959. David Chase has written new orchestrations for the songs being performed. Proceeds will benefit Stage Directors and Choreographers Society Foundation (SDCF) Observership and Fellowship programs.

In addition to the performances, the evening will feature the presentation of the "Mr. Abbott" Award, awarded annually in New York to recognize lifetime achievement; the Joe A. Callaway Award, given for excellence in direction and choreography in non-Broadway productions in New York; and the inaugural presentation of the Zelda Fichandler Award, which recognizes an outstanding director or choreographer who is making a unique and exceptional contribution through his or her work in regional theater.

Among the theatrical notables expected to attend the event are Bartlett Sher, Joy Abbott, Emanuel Azenberg, Melvin Bernhardt, Walter Bobbie, Mark Brokaw, Joe Calarco, Larry Carpenter, Tisa Chang, Ted Chapin, Lynn Taylor Corbett, Marcia Milgrom Dodge, Michael John Garces, Richard Hamburger, Doug Hughes, Moises Kaufman, Nina Lannan, Paul Libin, Des McAnuff, Kevin McCollum, Joey McKneely, Ethan McSweeny, Tom Moore, Amy Morton, Austin Pendleton, Neil Pepe, Lisa Peterson, Lonny Price, Charlotte St. Martin, Susan H. Schulman, Oz Scott, Leigh Silverman, and Daniel Sullivan.

Members of the honorary committee for the benefit, which is chaired by Hal Prince, are also expected to attend. The committee includes JoAnne Akalaitis, Edward Albee, Pat Birch, Peter Brook, Arvin Brown, Robert Brustein, James Burrows, Wayne Cilento, Martha Clarke, Hope Clarke, Graciela Daniele, Gordon Davidson, Gemze de Lappe, Carmen de Lavallade, André De Shields, John Dillon, Sheldon Epps, Oskar Eustis, Zelda Fichandler, Michael Greif, Edward Hastings, Nagle Jackson, Michael Kahn, Terry Kinney, Michael Langham, James Lapine, Gillian Lynne, Des McAnuff, Joe Mantello, Rob Marshall, Michael Mayer, Lynne Meadow, Sam Mendes, Jerry Mitchell, Mike Nichols, Trevor Nunn, Jack O'Brien, Austin Pendleton, Ann Reinking, Donald Saddler, Susan Stroman, Julie Taymor, Twyla Tharp, Tommy Tune, Paul Weidner, Stan Wojewodski, Jr., George C. Wolfe, Jerry Zaks, and Mary Zimmerman.

For further information, call 212-391-1070, extension 242.

Tagged in this Story