TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Rob Ashford, Ellen Burstyn, Tina Fey, Michael J. Fox, Justin Timberlake, et al. Win Emmy Awards logo
Rob Ashford
(© Joseph Marzullo/Retna)
The Primetime Emmy Creative Arts Awards were handed out on Saturday, September 12 in Los Angeles. The remainder of the 61st Annual Primetime Emmy Awards will be presented on Sunday, September 20 in L.A., to be hosted by Neil Patrick Harris.

Among the awards bestowed were for Outstanding Guest Actor and Actress in a Drama Series and Comedy Series, which were presented to Michael J. Fox (Rescue Me), Ellen Burstyn (Law & Order: SVU), and Justin Timberlake and Tina Fey (Saturday Night Live).

Other notable winners included Tony Award winner Rob Ashford for Outstanding Choreography for The 81st Annual Academy Awards; Dan Castalanetta for Outstanding Voiceover Performance for his work as Homer Simpson on The Simpsons; William Ross for Outsanding Music Direction for Streisand The Concert; and John Williams for Outstanding Original Main Theme Music for PBS' Great Performances.

In addition, The Kennedy Center Honors was named Outstanding Music, Comedy or Variety Special; Joss Wheedon's Dr. Horrible's Sing-Along Blog was named Outstanding Special Class - Short-format Live-Action Entertainment Program; and PBS' American Masters was named Outstanding Nonfiction Series.

For more information, visit

Tagged in this Story