TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Richard Foreman, Richard Frankel, FDNY to Be Lucille Lortel Honorary Award Recipients logo
Richard Foreman
(© David Gordon)
The Off-Broadway League has announced the Lucille Lortel honorary award recipients, who will be recognized at The 27th Annual Lortel Awards, to be held at NYU Skirball Center on Sunday, May 6, beginning at 7pm.

Producer Richard Frankel will receive the Lifetime Achievement Award. Together with his partners Tom Viertel, Steve Baruch, Marc Routh and Laura Green, Frankel has produced and managed some 90 productions on and Off-Broadway, in London and around the world.

Avant-garde theater pioneer Richard Foreman will be honored with his induction onto the famed Playwrights' Sidewalk, in front of the historic Lucille Lortel Theatre. Foreman has written, directed and designed over fifty of his own plays, both in New York City and abroad.

The Fire Department of the City of New York (FDNY) will receive the Service to Off-Broadway Award, presented in recognition and gratitude for all the work the FDNY does to protect the numerous Off-Broadway Theatres and Productions each year, helping keep the staffs, actors and patrons safe.

Public tickets to the Lucille Lortel Awards will be available starting March 30. Click here for more information.

Tagged in this Story