TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Reed Birney Replaces James Cromwell in the Cast of Hapgood at Williamstown Theatre Festival

Joey Slotnick, De'Adre Aziza and more also join Williamstown Theatre Festival summer season. logo

Reed Birney
(© David Gordon)
Additional casting for Williamstown Theatre Festival's previously announced season of main stage productions has been released.

Obie Award winner Reed Birney (Picnic) will replace the previously announced James Cromwell in the production of Tom Stoppard's Hapgood, whose cast also includes Kate Burton, Jason Butler Harner, Jake Weber, and Victor Williams.

The Big Knife's Joey Slotnick will join the cast of Animal Crackers as Groucho, reprising the role he played in The Goodman Theatre's 2009 production. Also joining the mounting are Joey Sorge (Nice Work If You Can Get It) and Brad Aldous as Harpo. Previously announced cast members include Jonathan Brody, Adam Chanler-Berat, Mara Davi, Renée Elise Goldsberry, Ellen Harvey, and Jacob Ming-Trent.

Caitlin O'Connell will join the cast of Pygmalion along with previously announced Heather Lind, Robert Sean Leonard, Patricia Conolly, Don Lee Sparks, and Paxton Whitehead.

Additional casting for the world premiere Jason Robert Brown-Marsha Norman musical The Bridges of Madison County includes Tony Award nominee Daniel Jenkins (Mary Poppins), Jennifer Allen (Sister Act), Michael X. Martin (Catch Me If You Can), and Laura Shoop (Jerry Springer The Opera). They will join Elena Shaddow (as Francesca) opposite Steven Pasquale (as Robert Kincaid), as well as Nick Bailey, Cass Morgan, Whitney Bashor, and Caitlin Kinnunen.

Tony Award nominee Omar Metwally (Sixteen Wounded) has been cast in the world premiere of Bess Wohl's American Hero, joining previously announced Erin Wilhelmi and Ari Graynor.

The new musical Johnny Baseball also welcomes Tony Award nominee De'Adre Aziza (Passing Strange), Andrew Kober (Hair), Kelly Karbacz (Get Smart with Steve Carell), WTF regular and Tony Award nominee Brooks Ashmanskas (WTF's She Stoops to Conquer), and Tom McGowan (Fraiser), who will be replacing Burke Moses. The cast also includes James Snyder, Joe Cassidy, Alan H. Green, and Roger Robinson.

For tickets and more information, click here.