TheaterMania Logo
Home link

Public Theater's Women of the Public Gala Announces Final Casting

The event will take place June 3.

Eisa Davis will take part in the Women of the Public gala.
(© Tricia Baron)

The Public Theater has announced final casting for its gala, Women of the Public, on June 3 at the Delacorte Theater.

Directed by Leigh Silverman, with music direction by Mary-Mitchell Campbell, the highly anticipated summer gala under the stars will celebrate those who shaped our past and guide our future. The evening of dinner and performances at the Delacorte Theater will be hosted by gala cochairs Kathryn Chenault, Faith Gay, Suzan-Lori Parks, Julie Rice, and Lauren Rosenkranz.

Newly announced are Jeannette Bayardelle, Nemuna Ceesay, Eisa Davis, Hillary Fisher, Zainab Jah, Rebecca Naomi Jones, Jada Mayo, Margaret Odette, Lily Rabe, and Heidi Rodewald.

The cast of the evening will also include Annaleigh Ashford, Kim Blanck, Ally Bonino, Alison Cimmet, Jenn Colella, Bridget Everett, Tanesha Gary, Morgan Siobhan Green, Jessica Hecht, Marva Hicks, Jayne Houdyshell, Stephanie Hsu, Bre Jackson, Courtney Jamison, Gizel Jiménez, Ramona Keller, Lisa Kron, Alyse Alan Louis, Shakina Nayfack, Suzan-Lori Parks, Krysta Rodriguez, Daphne Rubin-Vega, Jessie Shelton, Emily Skeggs, Diana Son, Shaina Taub, Jeanine Tesori, Katie Thompson, Alysha Umphress, Kuhoo Verma, Tatiana Wechsler, Remy Zaken, and many more.

This year's celebration is inspired by the legacy of Lisa Garcia Quiroz. A former Public Theater Trustee, according to press materials, "Lisa had a profound commitment to creating an equitable world and believed deeply in The Public's role in driving that work forward."

The event will begin with cocktails and dinner alfresco, followed by a one-act musical performance of songs and scenes celebrating Women of the Public at 8pm in the Delacorte Theater, and culminate with an after-party.


Tagged in this Story