TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Playwrights Horizons' Spring Gala Heroines Celebrates Female Writers

LaChanze, Kerry Butler, and original cast members of Once on This Island are set to perform at the May 6 gala. logo

© David Gordon
The Playwrights Horizons' annual spring gala, this year called Heroines, will celebrate the women writers who have been produced at the theater over the last 42 years. The gala will be held May 6 at 583 Park Avenue.

Playwrights Horizons, which is dedicated to presenting new American writing, has a strong track record of producing women's work. In recent seasons, 50-65% of the plays produced annually have been written by women. In the current season, 4 of the 6 productions are written by women.

In its 42 years, the theater company has proudly presented the works of 65 women writers in 90 productions. In alphabetical order, they are: Lynn Ahrens, Christina Anderson, Annie Baker, Tanya Barfield, E.M. Broner, Anne Burr, Jane Chambers, Kirsten Childs, Julia Cho, Bess Coding, Anne Commire, Kia Corthron, Migdalia Cruz, Lisa D'Amour, Bathsheba Doran, Susan Dworkin, Marlane Elder, Sally Fay, Ellen Fitzhugh, Kate Fodor, Amy Freed, Eve Friedman, Melissa James Gibson, Gina Gionfriddo, Jessica Goldberg, Leslie Gore, Kirsten Greenidge, Joy Gregory, Roma Greth, Rinne Groff, Carol Hall, Laura Harrington, Leslye Headland, Amy Herzog, Susan Jack, Sarah Kernochan, Tina Landau, Dorothy Louise, Wendy MacLeod, Teresa Marffie, Lynn Martin, Marlane Meyer, Lynn Nottage, Kira Obolensky, Sally Ordway, Regina Porter, Margaret Power, Theresa Rebeck, Iris Rosofsky, Sarah Ruhl, Kirsten Sanderson, Sarah Schulman, Jo Ellen Sheffield, Marsha Sheiness, Lynn Siefier, Beverly Smith-Dawson, Kelly Stuart, Jeanine Tesori, Kathleen Tolan, Sarah Treem, Karen Trott, Wendy Wasserstein, and Erin Cressida Wilson.

The evening will also celebrate Leslie Marcus on her 20th anniversary as the company's managing director. Marcus' accomplishments include increasing the budget by more than $5 million and construction of the current building that houses the theater.

The evening will consist of performances by such Playwrights Horizons alumni as Tony Award winner LaChanze (Once on This Island), Tony Award winner Shuler Hensley (The Whale) and Tony Award nominee Kerry Butler (The Call), plus the reunion of original cast members from the Tony-nominated Best Musical Once on This Island and the Obie Award-winning musical The Bubbly Black Girl Sheds Her Chameleon Skin.

The evening will also feature the participation Amy Brenneman (Rapture, Blister, Burn), Tony Award winner Lynn Ahrens (Once on This Island), Kirsten Childs (The Bubbly Black Girl…), Gina Gionfriddo (Rapture, Blister Burn), Amy Herzog (The Great God Pan), Pulitzer Prize winner Lynn Nottage (Mud, River, Stone), and composer Jeanine Tesori (Violet). Additional participating artists will be announced in the coming weeks.

Ticket prices for the Gala start at $1,000 and can be reserved by calling Michelle Kiefel at 212-564-1235 extension 3143.