TheaterMania Logo
Photo Flash

PHOTO FLASH: John Selya, Twyla Tharp, Richard Thomas, Ben Vereen, et al. at Astaire Awards Nominations Party logo
Back: Laura Mead, Karine Plantadit, John Selya, Keith Roberts
Front: Lee Roy Reams, Twyla Tharp, Charlie Neshyba-Hodges
(© Ann Watt)
Emmy award winner Richard Thomas, currently starring in Broadway's Race, announced the nominees for the 28th Annual Fred & Adele Astaire Awards, at a reception for the nominees and Astaire Awards Gala Committee on Monday, May 3, at Elaine's.

The awards, which honor excellence in dance and choreography on Stage and in Film, will be presented on Monday, June 7 in a ceremony at the the Gerald Lynch Theater at John Jay College. Lee Roy Reams will direct the event, which will also serve as a benefit for Career Transitions for Dancers.

Nominees included stage choreographers Bill T. Jones (Fela!), Twyla Tharp (Come Fly Away), Sergio Trujillo (Memphis), Marcia Milgrom Dodge (Ragtime), and Steven Hoggett (American Idiot). Male dancer nominees include Come Fly Away's Charlie Neshyba-Hodges, Keith Roberts, and John Selya; Burn the Floor's Maksim Chmerkovskiy, and the Memphis male ensemble. Female dancer nominees included Come Fly Away's Karine Plantadit, Laura Mead, and Holley Farmer; Savannah Wise for Ragtime; and Nicole Chantal de Weever and the Fela! female ensemble.

Guests at the Nominee reception included Tony Award winner Ben Vereen, actor Marty Lawson, dancer/choreographer Lisa Wheeler, dancer/choreographer Tricia Brouk, and dancer and actress Oneika Phillips.


For tickets or more information, visit

Richard Thomas and Ben Vereen
(© Ann Watt)
Savannah Wise and Marty Lawson
(© Ann Watt)

Tagged in this Story