TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Liz Callaway, Alli Mauzey Set for Amas Musical Theatre's 48th Anniversary Gala

The event will honor Broadway writers Lynn Ahrens and Stephen Flaherty. logo
Liz Callaway will be among the performers at Amas Musical Theatre's annual gala honoring Lynn Ahrens and Stephen Flaherty.
(© Tristan Fuge)

Performers have been announced for Amas Musical Theatre's annual gala, which is set to take place April 3 at Baruch Performing Arts Center. As previously announced, Tony Award-winning collaborators Lynn Ahrens and Stephen Flaherty will be honored with the Rosie Award and Chita Rivera will serve as honorary chair of the event, which journalist Peter Filichia will host.

Scheduled to participate in the event, titled The Flip Side: Unknown Musical Gems by Ahrens and Flaherty, are Broadway's Liz Callaway (Cats), Eddie Korbich (A Gentleman's Guide to Love and Murder), Quentin Earl Darrington (Ragtime) Tina Fabrique (Dessa Rose), Alli Mauzey (Wicked), Janet Metz (Fiddler on the Roof) Kenita R. Miller (The Color Purple) N'Kenge (Motown), Evan Pappas (Parade), as well as Mick Bleyer, Jerusha Cavazos, Darlesia Cearcy, Kevin R. Free, Jeremiah James, Lauren Lukacek, Lulu Picart, and Juan Torres-Falcon.

The gala evening will also feature performances by students from Amas' education program, the Rosetta LeNoire Musical Theatre Academy. Direction is by Jonathan Cerullo with musical direction by Deborah Abramson.

Ahrens and Flaherty have written the musicals Once on This Island, Rocky, Ragtime, My Favorite Year, Lucky Stiff, A Man of No Importance, Dessa Rose, The Glorious Ones, Little Dancer, and the upcoming Broadway production of Anastasia.

For tickets to Anastasia, click here.