TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Orphans' Home Cycle, Viola Davis, Annie Baker Win New York Drama Critics' Circle Awards logo
A scene from The Orphans' Home Cycle
(© Gregory Costanzo)
The New York Drama Critics' Circle announced the winners of the organization's 75th annual awards on Friday, April 30 and will present them at a cocktail reception to be held on Monday, May 10 at the Algonquin Hotel.

The Orphans' Home Cycle, written by Horton Foote, won the award fpr Best Play of the 2009-2010 season. No awards were given for Best Musical or Best Foreign Play.

Special Citations were awarded to Lincoln Center Festival for visionary international programming and Viola Davis for sustained achievement. In addition, an Emerging Artist Special Citation was awarded to Annie Baker for Circle Mirror Transformation and The Aliens.

The organization comprises 22 drama critics from daily newspapers, magazines, wire services, and websites based in the New York metropolitan area. It presents an award to what it deems as the best new play of the season, with optional awards for foreign or American plays, musicals and performers. The best play award carries with it a cash prize of $2,500.

The NYDCC is headed by Time Out New York critic Adam Feldman. The group includes TheaterMania contributor David Finkle along with journalists Hilton Als, Melissa Rose Bernardo, Joe Dziemianowicz, Michael Feingold, Robert Feldberg, Elysa Gardner, Eric Grode, Michael Kuchwara, David Rooney, Frank Scheck, David Sheward, John Simon, Alexis Soloski, Terry Teachout, Elisabeth Vincentelli, Linda Winer, and Richard Zoglin. Howard Kissel and Michael Sommers serve as emeritus members.

For more information, visit

Tagged in this Story