TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

NYTW to Receive 2003 Edwin Booth Award logo

Kelly Hutchinson and Yusef Bulos in Homebody/Kabul
(Photo: © Joan Marcus)
New York Theatre Workshop (NYTW) will be the recipient of the 21st annual Edwin Booth Award, to be presented by the Doctoral Theatre Students Assocation of the Graduate Center of the City University of New York on May 5. The evening will also feature a symposium, a discussion of NYTW's history by distinguished guests, and a reception.

In addition to its productions NYTW supports artists in all stages of their careers by maintaining programs including readings, summer residencies, minority artist fellowships, and more. Among the shows that have been developed at NYTW are Tony Kushner's Homebody/Kabul, Claudia Shear's Dirty Blonde, Jonathan Larson's Rent, and John Guare's Lydie Breeze, Parts One and Two.

Established in 1983, the Booth Award annually honors a person, organization, or company that has had a significant impact on the world of New York theater and performance. Previous recipients include Tony Kushner, Hal Prince, the Brooklyn Academy of Music, Arthur Miller, and Al Hirschfeld.

Tagged in this Story