TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Nine and Glee Ensembles, Glenn Close, Penelope Cruz, et al. Earn SAG Nominations logo
Penelope Cruz
(© Joseph Marzullo/WENN)
The nominations for the 16th annual Screen Actors Guild Awards have been announced. The awards will be presented in a ceremony to be held at the Los Angeles Shrine Exposition Center on January 23 at 8pm that will be broadcast on TNT and TBS.

The movie musical Nine has received several nods, including one for Outstanding Performance by a Cast in a Motion Picture. Also nominated is Penelope Cruz for her performance as Carla.

Theater notables abound in the ensemble cast category, which also includes An Education, which features Dominic Cooper, Alfred Molina, Carey Mulligan, Peter Sarsgaard, and Emma Thompson; and The Hurt Locker, which has among its stars Anthony Mackie and Christian Camargo. Also nominated are the casts of Inglourious Basterds and Precious, Based on the Novel "Push" by Sapphire.

Other theater veterans who have been recognized for their work on the big screen are Colin Firth, Morgan Freeman, Woody Harrelson, Helen Mirren, Christopher Plummer, Meryl Streep, and Stanley Tucci.

SAG nominations for television shows include one for FOX TV's hit show Glee, which has received a nomination for Outstanding Performance by an Ensemble Cast in a Comedy Series. As with the films, other nominated ensembles are filled with stage actors, such as Dexter, which stars Michael C. Hall and John Lithgow; The Good Wife, featuring Christine Baranski and Julianna Margulies; Mad Men, which has among its cast Bryan Batt, Jared Harris, Robert Morse, and Elizabeth Moss; True Blood, starring Anna Camp, Anna Paquin, and Carrie Preston; 30 Rock, featuring Alec Baldwin and Jane Krakowski; and Modern Family, which stars Ty Burrell and Jesse Tyler Ferguson. Other nominated ensembles are The Closer, Curb Your Enthusiasm The Office.

Individually nominated stage veterans include Joan Allen, Christina Applegate, Kevin Bacon, Glenn Close, Toni Collette, Ruby Dee, Edie Falco, Holly Hunter, Jeremy Irons, Kevin Kline, Jessica Lange, Kyra Sedgwick, Tony Shalhoub, and Sigourney Weaver.

For further information, visit

Tagged in this Story