TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

New Dramatists to Honor Lansbury logo
Stage and screen legend Angela Lansbury will be honored with a lifetime achievement award by New Dramatists, the national's oldest non-profit workshop dedicated to the development of new playwrights, at the organization's 51st annual spring luncheon.

Lansbury received Tony Awards for her performances in Mame, Dear World, Gypsy, and Sweeney Todd. Her other Broadway shows include A Taste of Honey and Anyone Can Whistle. Equally distinguished as a film actress, Lansbury received Academy Award nominations for Gaslight, The Picture of Dorian Gray, and The Manchurian Candidate. Lansbury is also known to millions as the star of the long-running TV series Murder, She Wrote.

Among the past honorees of the New Dramatists are Julie Andrews, Glenn Close, John Kander & Fred Ebb, Neil Simon, Jerry Herman, Stephen Sondheim, Gwen Verdon, and Terrence McNally. This year's luncheon will be held at the Broadway Ballroom of the New York Marriott Marquis (1535 Broadway, between 45th and 46th streets) on Tuesday, May 16, beginning with a champagne reception at 11:15 a.m. and ending at 2:30 p.m. Tickets are $175; phone 212-757-6960 for information and/or reservations.

Tagged in this Story