TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

New Drama League Beatrice Terry Fellowship Announced at the 30th Annual Musical Celebration of Broadway

Tony-winning director Michael Mayer made the announcement at last night's event. logo
Tony-winning director Michael Mayer announced the new Drama League Beatrice Terry Fellowship at the 30th annual Musical Celebration of Broadway.
(© David Gordon)

The Drama League and Tony Award winning-director Michael Mayer (Hedwig and the Angry Inch) announced the establishment of the new Drama League Beatrice Terry Fellowship during last night's 30th annual Musical Celebration of Broadway, which honored Neil Patrick Harris. As previously announced, the event was held at the Pierre Hotel.

The new fellowship, named in honor of the late director Beatrice Terry, will fund the development of a new work by an emerging female writer-director, culminating in a writing residency, living stipend, and a professional reading of the new work at The Drama League Theater Center in New York. Members of The Drama League staff and a special advisory board will select the first recipient later this year.

The Terry Fellowship Advisory Board currently includes actors Jonathan Groff, David Hyde Pierce, Philip Lehl, and Annie Potts; directors Lear deBessonet and Michael Mayer; Susan Bernfield, artistic director of New Georges; Dana Harrel, producing director of La Jolla Playhouse; Lisa McNulty, artistic line producer at Manhattan Theatre Club; Ellen Rusconi, producing director of the Stage Directors and Choreographers Foundation; and playwright Gretchen M. Michelfeld, who is the widow of Beatrice Terry.

The evening honoring Harris featured stars from Hollywood and Broadway who performed musical selections drawn from his career in theater, film, and television. Tony Award winner Michael Mayer codirected with Johanna McKeon.

To see photos from the Whoopi Goldberg-hosted event, click here.